Cycle Readings - Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

toby_buk

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here...trying to cycle Fluval Edge 12gallon cold water tank. I set up and followed instructions it came with, then left the tank running a week (i was away for work). Arriving back I have taken readings and got the following:

Ammonia: 4
Nitrite: 5
Nitrate: 150ppm

I had quite a bit of water discoloration due to the wood I had in there leaching a bit, so now done a 50% water change.

Bit lost as to where I should go from here cycle wise as nothing I read seems to marry with my readings? Will aim to do another set of tests tomorrow now I have done the water change.

Any help much appreciated!

Very interesting... A few questions to start:

What is in the tank besides the water?
What is the water parameters (ammonia, nitrite, etc.) straight from your tap?

The good news is that you have ammonia in there to start building your bacteria colony. The better news is that you also have nitrite, which will also start to build that colony.

Now, the bad news... I have no idea where all that ammonia and nitrAte is coming from! So, we will have to work through everything that you've added to the tank since you started and what your tap water is to try to figure it out. In the meantime, don't worry too much. The ammonia and nitrite being present will only help you for now. And a water change at any time will correct any issue that we might uncover. :good:

Thanks for all your help here! OK so..

What is in the tank:
2 x driftwood
2 x small live plants
1 x bag substrate
2 x bag grey gravel

Tap Water Tests from today:
PH: 7.6
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 5ppm

Tank Water Tests from today (2 days after 50% water change):

PH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0.50ppm
Nitrite: 5ppm
Nitrate: 80ppm (on upper end of this spectrum...)