Cycle Newb

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Pickle

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
OK guys i am a newb and i am in need of a bit of help. My tank has been set up now for over a week and has a fair amount of live plants. For the first week i did nothing untill my test kit arrived, when i tested it i got the following readings:

PH - 7.5
Amonia - 1.0 ppm
Nitrates - 5.0 ppm
Nitrite - 0.5ppm

I then added 1.26ml of 9.5% amonia to bring the amonia levels up to 3ppm. After leaving it for 48 hours i got the following readings today:

Amonia: 2ppm
Nitrates: 5ppm
Nitrites: 5ppm

I know im supposed to be looking for a spike and this looks spike like to me. Can anyone give me some advice?

Looks like you're on track so far :)

The nitrite spike at 5ppm seems to be happening now. Basically its now a waiting game for nitrite to drop.

Just keep what you're doing and test every 48 hours, and continue to read and follow the fishless cycle article ;)

Might be worth testing your tap water for those parameters too - just in case it already has nitrates present - mine comes out the tap at 5 ppm before even adding it to the tank.

Reduce your ammonia dose from the normal 3 ppm to 2 ppm. Allow for a 15% reduction in your tank volume when you do the calculation for that 2 ppm. Plants should be doing a lot of the work if you have a lot of them. They are not real fond of nitrite but should like nitrate. You may need a blackout day or two to stave off algae. Plants can live longer w/o light than algae.

Todays readings are:

Amonia: 1-1.5ppm
Nitrites: 5+ppm
Nitrates: 10-20ppm

Seems to be working slowly 

Definitely getting there. The nitrite bit seems to be the slowest to complete.