Corydoras - Waste levels?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

james_fish

Chuck, Leader Of Ze People.
Reaction score
Hi all

I will soon be offloading the 5 Oto's which I've had a month of so.
Firstly, because they have done the job I initially got them for, but mainly because the physical waste they produce. Between them it's astonishing for such a small fish. I can't keep up vacuuming it out!

Anyway i'm looking at replacing them with a group of 6-8 Cory's - undecided as of yet but maybe Gold Lazers or Weitzmani.

I have very little experience with Corydoras, so my question what they like in terms of "pooping" and spoiling up my lovely river sand? messy buggers or not too bad? Don't mind cleaning once every few days but not everyday.

Thanks in advance

James.

I've never seen this issue with otos or anything else, and have hundreds of fish. What sort of sand?

All fish produce waste including corys and I would assume they would produce the same amount as otos. You really should only vacuum the sand once a week. The organics that accumulate could foil your water and cause issues of done every day or other day. I myself never vacuum my substrate, just let it do it’s thing.

And an otos job is never done. They constantly work to keep algae in check and once they are gone it will come back. That of course is dependent on whether you subscribe to the notion that you get certain fish only to do certain jobs, which I don’t.

I've never seen this issue with otos or anything else, and have hundreds of fish. What sort of sand?

It’s Hugo Kamishi natural sand.
I’ve been told it’s common with Oto’s if they are feeding well. It’s supposed to be a good sign that they are constantly eating algae and producing waste. An unlimited stomach if you like!

I just don’t want the Cory’s to be the same. I imagine they won’t be as bad as they are far less effective at eating algae

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk