Confused On A Cycle......

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

razer121

THE Triop Man XD
Reaction score
ok, my filter is able to process just under 4ppm of ammonia in 12 hours, i know its supposed to be 5ppm but then when i add my fish wouldnt the filter adjust to the light load? so heres what i would like to know, seems as my main tank can process the lower amount of ammonia, can i stop my 5ppm adding and do a week of 4ppm in between the 12 hour times, and if all gos well add my fish?? thanks!

I would think you would be fine to do a big water change and then add a small % of your final stocking. I'm no expert, but it sounds like you have good hefty colonies of the beneficial bacteria (I assume you mean that after 12 hours of dosing you have 0 ammo and 0 nitrIte).

Would probably help to indicate: Tank size, Amount of live plants, Kind of filter(s), Final stocking plan.

You dont HAVE to use 5ppm of ammonia, this is just a good guide given so that once the fishless cycle has finished you will then be able to fully stock the tank straight away.

You can fishless cycle with 1ppm if you wish but then afterwards if the fish put in created more than 1ppm worth of ammonia you would experience ammonia spikes, alternatively if you cycle with 4ppm like you have then put in fish that only create 2ppm of ammonia then the excess bacteria will slowly die off to just the right amount to handle to bioload that your fish are creating.

Basically, unless you plan on fully stocking the tank straight away then a cycle using 5ppm of ammonia is not needed, 4ppm will be fine

Andy

ok i have a 60 litre tank, it has fair amount of plants and a fluval plus 2 filter, of course i have a couple of temp tanks so i can always take the fish out if all gos wrong, anyway heres the fish that are going into the tank,

1x betta 1 and a half inch in size
1x guppy
1x ballon molly
3x neons
1x albino catfish*