Cloudy Water

scrappy

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Im not new to keeping tropical fish, however i am new to the new filter tech... When i used to keep fish many years ago it was all done via an undergravel system (you know the ones where you have vertical pipes at each end and a noisy pump pushing air through it)... well all that was quite a few years back now and i ended up having to sell...

Recently i bought one of those Juwel Tanks (96 litre one) with this bio filter housing already attached at the back... So i follwed all the instructions, just add sponges and heater and finally this little fan pump... Set up tank by adding gravel, lump of bogwood, few small decorative items, bit of slate and finally a few of those plastic plants... Left for a few days and as instructed by my LFS added 6 Zebra Danios & 5 White Cloud Minnows to start off the cycling of this new bio filter.

Im just 2 days into this stage and already ive noticed the water getting cloudier and tonight my fish seemed to be staying at the water line at the top of the tank. This prompted me into a panic and i did a 25% water change. This has alleviated some of the cloudiness and the fish immediatly seemed a little happier to swim deeper. What may be of note is that i live in a hard water area (Severn Trent Water) and we have a bit of lime in the water which sometimes makes even the natural tap water sometimes look a little cloudy...

So im asking all you pro's out there if you've seen this before, if you think its just the lime in the water, if you think it may be the pump (although when i did the 25% water change it looked like it was working fine as i lowered the water to the pipe outlet level) or is it something else i havent thought about... Sureley its too early to have a bacterial bloom causing the cloudiness???

Any thoughts?

Hi and welcome to TFF :D
How many gallons is your tank?