Can I Getv A Turtle?

AQUAKING

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Its ment to say get not getv, sorry. Anyway,

I have a 3 1/2 foot tank which is 18 inches tall and 12 inches from front to back. I was thinking of getting a turtle that dosent get to big,
anyone know of any thet can live in this tank?
Also can he live alone?
What type of food will he eat?
How should i decorate the tank?
And finaly what type of lighting will he need?

Sorry about all the questions, im a complete newbie at the turtles game.

AQUAKING

Someone must know someting after 18 people readong this.
AQUAKING

though I don't know an awful lot about turtles I think one of the smaller species is the Map turtle that gets a shell about 20cm in diameter, they need land for basking, a swimming area and like to have a shallow part in the water so they can sit in the water and stick their heads out.

I think you might get away with one in that size tank, though I'm not 100% sure and some more research would be needed. It would need a full spectrum flourescent light to bask in. they are carnivours eating fish, shrimps, crayfish and most molluscs. they are known for being quite muclky and need cleaning out very regularly.

I hope someone comes back with more info for you. It's a shame the tank isn't wider, that would be my biggest worry. good luck, sorry I haven't been much help.

i doubt very much, because a turtle cant bend its shell, like say a fish can, it would be very diffcult for it to turn so wuold be better suited for a tank 18" wide 4 feet long.

Thats a shame, :( i will have to stick to fish then. thanks moray and dany

AQUAKING

Ok.....a 3 1/2 x 12in x 18in I think is about a 40 gallon???