Camera Settings.... I Need Help.

Ludwig Venter

Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
This camera used to take too dark pictures, so I played around with the settings and now,..... I get the "over exposure" as seen in the picture below taken outside on an overcast day:

Chris001.jpg

That was supposed to be a photo of a chameleon on my fence..... I took the Chameleon inside for a photo, and it came out too dark again and had to shine a torch onto it to get this photo:

Chris030.jpg

What should I change on my settings to have decent photos taken outside...... all my outside photos are just a white blob as in the first photo.

DSLR camera?

ISO settings I believe. But you may also have in night mode. Is it a preset mode you are using or a manual mode?

DSLR camera?

ISO settings I believe. But you may also have in night mode. Is it a preset mode you are using or a manual mode?

Thanks for responding rdp, but I'm an absolute novice when it comes to cameras (or any electronics) for that matter..... so..... I do not even know what you mean by DSLR..... it is a Sony 1080, DSC - H10,... Cyber-shot... Full HD....Optical zoom 10x,.... 3.0" LCD monitor..... 8.1 pixels......Still Image..... Super steady shot..... So if any of that makes any sense to you, I think it can be found on google to give more info....

It has numerous settings on the menu, but I have no clue what they're about..... I'll appreciate any info or help, as it is useless to me atm, as it cannot be used outside at all.... (or maybe there is something wrong with the camera)???

Can you not put it on auto mode? it should then adjust the settings automatically for the conditions, I am by no means an expert on cameras though and never fiddle with my settings manually on my digi camera as there is too many and I never know what each one means so I'd rather just let the camera sort it out!