Brown Algae Destroying Decorations

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Acorn

Reaction score
Hey All,

I have a problem with a Brown Algae outbreak.

First some background information.

I am new to fish-keeping and was sold 16 Platys with a 65l tank. I then found out that this tank was WAY too small for my fish.

So I decided to buy a 125l tank. The problem was I only had a week before I could no longer return the 65l tank for a refund so had to put the 16 fish in after only a week of the new tank being set up.

After another week I had a MAJOR outbreak of Brown Algae. It was everywhere and I ended up losing four of my fish.

I cleaned the decorations and removed the brown Algae from the sand and filter, but within a few days it had started to come back again.

Its been well over a month now and the Brown Algae does not seem to be going. I have had a sample of my water tested at a proper fish store and it was perfect across the board.

I was told to try some Zebra Snails to try and clear the brown Algae. They have done wonders to the glass but there is still loads left.

Recently I noticed white patches appearing on my decorations where the snails had been and originally thought that the snails were eating the paint, but it seems I was wrong.

What in fact is happening is where the Brown Algae has been sitting on the decorations it seems to have eaten into them. If you rub your finger on them it removes the brown algae but it also removes the top layer of paint with it.

This is why I thought the snails were the cause, as where they had eaten the Algae it reveled where the paint had been removed by it.

What is going on in my tank? Can Brown Algae really remove paint from the painted polyresin decorations?

Any help would be appreciated.