Brand New To Keeping Tropical Fish 60ltr Tank

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

strobe1980

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi my name is rich I've been bought a Marina style 60 aquarium by my girlfriend and have a few questions that the experts will answer easily,that why I'm here: ) .
My main questions are am i able to keep galaxy rasbora and dwarf cichlids together in a 60 ltr tank.
These are the two breeds of fish that I really like.
Second question how many could I keep in a 60 lyrics and what mid level and bottom feeder fish could be housed with these fish.
Obviously I'm open to any ideas of alternative fish, I would like a community style aquarium but I know
That I am cramped for space.
Any feedback would be really appreciated: )
Thanks, Rich

60 lyrics! Lol meant 60 ltr

I'm no expert so may be corrected but as far as I know Galaxy Rasbora prefer soft water and grow around and inch in size so as long as you have soft water would be a perfect size fish for your aquarium. I would suggest about 4-6 of them.

I think dwarf cichlids may be a bit territorial for such a small tank but if your thinking of of a centre piece fish and have soft water it's worth considering a pair of Peacock Gobys which will grow to 2.5 inches and should be fine in your tank.

I would then finish off with a small shoal (4-6) of salt and pepper corys which again will stay at about and inch.

The well repeated rule of thumb for fish stocking is 1 inch per gallon (this is a rule of thumb and a lot more things should be considered such as filters/number of water changes, but is a good starting point). The above stocking at 6 in both shoals would give you around 17 inches of fish in a 16 US gallon tank so with good maintenance should be manageable.