Betta Smaragdina

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

TheHolding

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi,

Got a pair of these from a guy from eBay yesterday lovely fish and I will try and get some pics (they are very shy and like to hide in the plants).

They are very young and not showing colours yet, hoping I have a male and female so can possibly breed them at a later date.

I have them in my planted community tank at the moment as they are a peaceful betta.

I'm new to wild betta and I'm not sure what to feed these guys, they don't seem interested in anything I offer!

Have tried flakes, freeze dried brine shrimp, frozen brine shrimp, frozen daphnia etc.

Can anyone help? Are these guys not feeding because they are not comfortable with their new environment yet?

Thanks

Try feeding just before you turn the lights off, and don't hang around the tank too much, they'll probably have a scavenge around the substrate when they feel safe and should eventually start feeding in the daytime, especially once they recognise the signs of food.

Truly live food is often a best bet with wild type fish. Although they can readily live on other foods, a wild type fish will often refuse to try other foods without some training. Training wild fish to eat frozen or freeze dried foods is often a challenge at first. Maybe you could try mixing the frozen foods with live brine shrimp or microworms to get them to try the frozen foods. Even tiny foods like BBS or microworms are tempting enough to get the fish feeding. If they associate the live food with frozen foods, it doesn't take long for them to decide that frozen foods are worth trying. From there, you can gradually get them to try other foods so that you are not relying entirely on a single food. Single foods never are good enough for any fish. Variety is the essence of proper feeding regimes.

Hi TheHolding :)