Betta fish fins and health help!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lily40

Reaction score
Recently I noticed my betta fish had blood on his fins I thought he had burnt himself on the heater so ordered a guard and cleaned tank and added vitamin treatment to help healing.(his mouth has gone flat as well so can see his teeth please advise on this as well?)

2 days have passed and the fin is at the bottom hanging off is it fin rot and have I missed it

Please help!

Attachments

• IMG_7215.JPG
    IMG_7215.JPG
    886.9 KB · Views: 121
  • IMG_7216.JPG
    IMG_7216.JPG
    838.5 KB · Views: 171
  • IMG_7217.JPG
    IMG_7217.JPG
    955.9 KB · Views: 159
  • IMG_7188.JPG
    IMG_7188.JPG
    830.3 KB · Views: 173
I am far from a betta expert, but if I had to guess, I'd guess that this is columnaris... a bacterial infection. Also sometimes called saddleback or cotton mouth.

That looks like a very bad bacterial and/or fungal infection. It might be columnaris, but I'm not too familiar with that disease. His bottom lip looks completely eaten away at and his anal fin is in a bad way. You need to start treatment right away.

I'd do a 50% water change ASAP, then go to a pet store when possible and pick up a med aimed at bacterial diseases and some methylene blue (a common go-to for many treatments). Do a bath with meth. blue for half an hour, about 8-10 drops in a one gallon bucket would be fine. Keep the water warm. Then treat him in his tank with the bacterial med. Don't add any of the meth. blue to his tank, it will kill the nitrogen cycle.

The questions is, why did this develop and could it have been prevented? What is your water changing schedule like, what temp is the tank at, what size tank? How long has the tank been set up and is it cycled? If you can test your water for ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates then post the results that would be great.

Hi