Berbies Fishless Cycle

berbie38

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all
thought I might as well share my experience with everyone I am very new to tropical fish keeping and so any advice very welcome. I am cycling a 180 ltr Jewel rio with final goal of keeping some malawi cichlids. Ok I managed to get all the mature media from one of the local pet shops golfish tanks which has been running for about 8 months and have put it in my filter. I haver dosed up the tank to 4ppm.
Tap water parameters
NH3 0.25 NO2 0 NO3 above 0 but way below 5 PH 7.0

Day 1 12/6/11
checked the Ammonia level early because I have the mature media still 4ppm but looks slightly paler.
NH3 4 NO2 0.25 NO3 N/A PH 7.5/8
will keep you informed om a regular basis
best wishes Berbie
just checked again about 3 hours after first test to make sure i wasnt hallucinating Nitrite up to 1 mg/l now!!
Day 2 13/6/11
NH3 2 NO2 5 NO3 N/A PH 8
Day 3 14/6/11
NH3 0.5 NO2 5-10 No3 10 PH 8
Day 4
NH3 0 NO2 10 NO3 10 Redosed to 2-3 PH 7.5
DAY 5
NH3 0 No2 15 No3 10-20 Redosed to 4ppm
Day 6:
NH3 0 NO2 15 NO3 10-20 redosed to 4ppm
Day 7
NH3 0 NO2 15 NO3 80 redosed to 4b ppm think nitrite is off scale as 15 is the highest reading
Day 9
NH3 0.25 N02 15 NO3 off scale nitrite may be off scale to its at its highest reading
LARGE WATER CHANGE
Day 10
NH3 0.25 NO2 5 NO3 40-80 redosed to 4
Day 11 22.6.11
NH3 0.25 NO2 5 NO3 N/A redosed to 4
Day 12 23.6.11.
NH3 0.5 NO2 5 No3 80-160 PH 7.5 redosed
Day 13 24.6.11
NH3 2 NO2 5 NO3 80-160 ph 7.5
[u]Day 14 25.6.11[/u]
NH3 0 N02 1 N03 80-160

Mature media is awesome!

I would recommend upping the temp to 84F (29C) and the pH to 8.4ish (add baking soda).

cool. temp is at that already, how much soda, i have quite high ph already

I would also recommend you add the tap water parameters to the first post (pH, NH3, NO2, NO3) so that folks can compare your tap results to your current cycling situation. Also continue to add each day to the log, like this: