Asain Rummynose

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JDFish

Reaction score
So, I've kept quite a few varieties of fish and I wouldn't say I'm a pro but I definitely know the basics. I recently bought Asain Rummynose aswell as some fire red shrimp. The plan is to breed my Rummynose so any tips would help. My tank is heavily planted however the plants will take time to grow out. I have a filter that is very powerful and keeps water very clean and cycled. I also bought a poweredhead to keep water flow good. I feed them every 2-3 days but I don't always see them catching the food and it worries me because I don't want any to starve. Basically any tips I can get on Asain Rummynose I'll take. Thanks!

Never seen them, kept them or bred them but they look like a rasbora and are apparently endangered so if you can breed them that would be great. Having said that, fish are fish and they all breed in a similar way.

The following link has some info on breeding fish in general as well as making live food for the fry. Rasbora fry need infusoria or small rotifers for the first few weeks.
http://www.fishforums.net/threads/back-to-basics-when-breeding-fish.448304/

I would keep the adults in a single species tank and feed them well 3-4 times per day. Feed a variety of foods including dry, frozen and live if you can get it. Mosquito larvae are the best food for conditioning small aquarium fish. Other good foods include live daphnia, aphids, grindle worms, microworms, newly hatched brineshrimp and raw or cooked prawn/ shrimp. With prawn you buy some and put it in the freezer. Remove one prawn and defrost it. Remove the head shell and gut (thin black thing running thru the middle of the prawn) and throw in the bin. Use a pr of scissors to cut the prawn into small bits and offer 1 or 2 bits at a time. Let the fish eat them and then offer a couple more bits. Continue until the fish are full.