American flagfish question

elephantnose3334

Fishaholic
Reaction score
About American flagfish, is it okay to keep a pair of them in a 40cm cube (64L) tank? I am new to American flagfish, and I never kept them before. There are no plants native to Florida in Perth LFS's. So I have no choice but to put plants from different areas of the world.

I believe flagfish need at least 20 gallon long rectangular tank. A 29 gal would be even better. Bigger tank = more fish.
And @Fishmanic, let me tell you a story behind my love of flagfish. I first saw flagfish in a pond shop in Cockburn (coh-burn), Australia. The males were displaying their colours in an empty tank on top of other tanks. They cost $9 in the pond shop, but I wish I got some and prepped the tank for them, but couldn't due to some family stuff. I wanted to chat to you and @GaryE about the Florida native. I was thinking 'Oh, that would be a nice fish for a 64L 40cm cube tank. I might plan to do a project exclusively for them'. I now realise they must live in 20 gallons or more to thrive.

This fish is only found in Florida and they are common around the world in LFS's. This fish is a gem and although breeding them can be difficult, expert hobbyists have given it a shot once or twice. I am enthusiastic about flagfish due to them being a North American native, but since I don't usually see North American natives in Australia, it is the only American native killifish that is sold in LFS's here. I've been wanting to keep them a long time and I understand that you might not want to keep them, but it's a lovely fish to keep in tanks that are 54L or more.

Maybe I should keep a species-only tank for flagfish. In my opinion, they don't do well in community tanks. I wonder that if other LFS's sell other North American fish (shiners, minnows, etc.).