Advice On 300L Setup

msn

Reaction score
A little background (as this is my first visit to this forum)

I've been keeping freshwater tropical fish for about 5 years now, in a couple of small tanks crammed into my bedroom in my parents house. I'm now in the process of buying my own house, and in preparation I've purchased a 300 l (80 USg) juwel rio tank (absolute bargain at £120 from eBay including cabinet). I've wanted to set-up a marine tank for a while now and have decided that the time is now, as I'll never be able to convince my girlfriend to get a bigger tank and it would be the perfect time to set it up from scratch after the move to the new house.

So I've had a decent delve into the literature online and I've decided to start off with a FOWLR so I can ease myself into the marine side of things. Along with live rock and a protein skimmer, I'd like to incorporate my tetratec ex1200 external filter into the system as a sump substitute, as I don't want to drill my tank. I've read all about canister filters being 'nitrate factories', but surely if its cleaned out regularly this won't be a problem? It would also give me room for phosphate absorbers etc and it is pretty big so would add to the water volume. There are various filtration levels inside it, including bioballs, carbonate rings and generic sponge... are these compatible with marine (assuming they are cleaned regularly)

Does this sound like a reasonable setup for a FOWLR setup? I'm open to suggestions about protein skimmers as well, as i'd like an internal one in my tank that isn't too intrusive or noisy, but does the job well.   I've had a look at the juwel protein skimmer as its pretty much just a black cuboid that blends into the side of the tank, but i've read some dodgy reviews.