A Few Angelfish Related Questions

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

sputnick

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
OK so i have finally decided to switch my 45 US GAL african american cichlid tank to a community tank! My plan was to have a pair of angels, which brings up my first question.

How would i pair angelfish off? I have never done it before so some tips or input would be great.

Also Is there a difference (other than the obvious longer tails) between a veil angelfish and a regular angelfish?

Then finally i was planning on keeping two schools, a school of 7 odessa barbs and another school of snakeskin barbs. Would there be any problem to this? I know some barbs can be nippy but i haven't really heard anything on snakeskin barbs.

I would not recommend barbs with any fancy finned fish such as angels as their fins are an easy target.

To have a pair of angelfish you need to either buy a proven pair from a breeder or buy a school and allow them to pair themselves off. They are nearly impossible to sex until they are in breeding mode and they drop their papilla, and even then throwing any female and male together could end in disaster.

Odessa Barbs need temperatures way too low for Angels to be comfortably kept. I have kept Snakeskins with an Angel temporarily and would not recommend it, they are quite shy and skittish.
Cherry Barbs could work but fully grown Angels may eat them

+1 with jenste. Proven pair or buy multiples and let them pair but you will most probably need to rehome the others in that size tank.