29 Gal Population ?

joojie

Reaction score
Hello all Im new to aquariums despite a life long fascination with them. My question is pretty simple. In my current 29 gal freshwater setup I have the following:
4 Diamond tetra
2 Emerald corys
1 Panda cory
3 Black skirted tetra
2 Pristella tetra ( I know two is not optimal since they are schooling fish. Yet so far they seem to be doing great.)

My question is, is my tank over populated or can I add a few more Pristella or maybe one more panda cory? Im happy with the population now and would be fine with leaving at the fish that are there. I dont know if I completely trust the aquarium center I bought everything from due to a lack of advice and withholding of information during my setup that almost cost my fish. Thank you and I look forward to you're responses.

Hi and welcome to the forum! :)

Unfortunately that is a terrible choice of stocking, all the species you picked are shoaling fish and should be kept in groups. It would be wise to rehome one of the tetras and increase the numbers of the two other species. You should also think about rehoming one of the cories and having a larger group of a single species. 

What are your water parameters? 

What filter do you have?

508 said:
Hi and welcome to the forum!
smile.png

Unfortunately that is a terrible choice of stocking, all the species you picked are shoaling fish and should be kept in groups. It would be wise to rehome one of the tetras and increase the numbers of the two other species. You should also think about rehoming one of the cories and having a larger group of a single species. 

What are your water parameters? 

What filter do you have?
It isn't a terrible choice.  I have often found my tetras school together and they don't look similar.  I have one white skirt and 3 neons.  The white skirt was the only one left and the three neons were all I could get.  They will do fine with other tetra species and will sometimes make friends with your other fish.