1st Batch Of Bn's.......so Excited

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

cmfoggy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all
My bn's have finally laid their first batch of eggs. It is only a small batch, but i'm guessing that is quite normal for a first time :unsure:
My question is
I have a albino red tail shark in the tank as well, will he eat them (probably would if he had the chance) but the prob is i dont really have another tank to put him into.
I bought a breeders net but the eggs are up the far end of a fake ceramic log and are stuck, the log is too heavy and too big for the net.
Would the eggs be ok in a white 20litre bucket with filter and air stone? or should i go and purchase a small glass fish tank, if so what size would be ok?
Any help would be great, im very new at this egg stuff, so i am very unsure of what to do and what is best.

any way, thanks

Just thought of another question.
What is the best thing to feed bn fry, do i need to buy special fry food or will they survive on just cucumber, lettuce and algae wafers etc

Has the male been protecting them dont seperate the male from the eggs he keeps them safe and fans the eggs and airates them the best thing to do would be to transfer the male and eggs to another tank this way he can feed freely without the worry of predators and also take care of his young its alot easier like this cause all you need to do then is to remove the male once they have hatched and absorbed their yokes, it easier to see how many you have and easier to catch them when you want to sell/move them on, if you can afford the new tank i would go for atleast a 30-40 litre minimum the young should be fine in this.

The young will eat the same as the adults, i feed myn on algae waffers, cucumber, cat fish pellets, variety waffers, flakes, and the odd blood worm every now and then

Thanks for your reply stiffler69

Yeah he has been a really good dad and been protecting his eggs very well.