Would This Work

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jakeroberts

Fishaholic
Reaction score
hi all i am thinking of starting a nano i am goin to go for a 14 gallon tank with live rock and fish and maby the acasional coral wats sort of things would i need to start a nano tank and would i need a skimmer o and how does this lists sound

equipment:
14 gallon tank
filter
heater
lights
live rock
live sand

livestock:
firefish
shrimp (of some sort)
4 hermits
a clown fish
snails
tang (if it would be alright in that sized tank)
soft corals

any other suggestions would be great

Hi,
I too am starting down the Nano tank / Reef tank route. I have just come back from a holiday on the Gold Coast whereby I took in a trip to Lady Elliot Island at the southern tip of The Great Barrier Reef.....bloody awesome. This is where I got my impidus to start such a project.
I have been keeping tropical freshwater killifish for over 30 years and I guess it's time to move on.
Below is a list of equipment that I am currently in the process of purchasing and as you can see I don't intend to skim at the initial outset.
I have written this to show you the path that I am following and maybe you could adapt your tank to incorporate some of the following to suit the constraints of your own personal setup and ideas.

24"x12"x18" all glass tank and cabinet

Water Movement
2 - 900ltrs per hour powerheads
1 - Eheim 2217 canister filter only for flow and loosely filled with some reef carbon and Rowaphos (phosphate remover)

Lighting
3 - T5 55w compact starter units and triphosphor tubes with reflectors

Heating
1 - Jager (Eheim) 100w thermostatic heater

Filtration
20kgs Cured Live Rock (Fiji)

Substrate
Carib Sea Coral sand (I intend to place around 25mm substrate on the tank base)

Test kits
Red Sea Marine (all in one test lab)
Hydrometer

Salt Mixture