Worried about Boris

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Saer

Reaction score
Hi

I am new to fishkeeping and have had my tank for approx 3 months. It is fully cycled.

Boris, my Bristlenose Catfish has been acting strangely for the last few days. We have had him for about a month, he has been very active, sucking on driftwood, plants and glass at all times of the day, he can usually be seen all over the glass all the time occasionally hiding under the driftwood. He is fed Plecostomus tablets usually. Recently he has been sitting by the top of the heater with his mouth wide open, not sucking anything, just sitting there wedged between the glass and power cable. At first, I thought he was stuck but he moved when I went to move the wire. He came straight back to the same spot as soon as I put the lid back on the tank.

I haven't seen him eat anything for days, he never sticks to anything anymore, he has stopped sitting in the corner mostly and has taken to balancing on the leaves of the plants, it is as if he cannot keep himself up, although he can swim to the surface, sometimes he looks like he is trying to sucker onto the glass but cant and slides down then go back to the plant. He sits on the leaves with his mouth open, fins fanned, and his head raised up as if he is trying not to touch anything with his mouth, occasionally swimming to the surface, possibly for air. When I switch the lights on in the morning, he doesn't appear to have moved from where I left him the night before.

I gave him cucumber last night which doesn't appear to have been touched.

Not one of the other fish appear to have any problems at all, they are all fine.

Tank size: 24 gallons
pH: 7.6
ammonia: 0.25
nitrite: 0
nitrate: 0
Testing was done this morning, have since done a 50% water change.
tank temp: 78f
Has a heater with a cover on, bubble curtain, and filter.

Planted tank with various types of plants.