What Happened To My Fish?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

brian24

Reaction score
I just bought a 75 gallon aquarium that included 5 fish: 1 Black Shark (~5-6 inches), 1 Silver Dollar, 1 Angelfish, and 2 Gourami. (All are a pretty good size)

The Black Shark died about 1.5 days after I got them setup in the temporary tank. All other fish seem to be doing fine.

I moved them into a 40 gallon tank that I set up temporarily. All of the water in the tank came from the 75 gallon. The previous owner claims he had not cleaned it in about a month. All of the tests that I ran were normal except the PH was low (~6.4-6.5), Ammo ~0ppm, Nitrite ~0ppm, Nitrate just a little over 0ppm. I added some PH Neutralizer to the water, but it seemed to have no effect. I'm new to this so I may not have ran the tests correctly. I'm taking a water sample to the LFS today to have them test it.

I kept the gravel and set the wet/dry filter tower down into the 40gallon aquarium to keep it wet. The water temp dropped down to about 74 degrees at the end of 24 hours so I setup the heater and it came up to about 78. I dropped the setting a little bit to try to get it around 76-77. I put the fake stone decoration that he had into the tank along with the air line that went into it. I added a new AquaClear filter to the 40 gallon to provide the filtering and was sure to rinse out all of the filter media first.

After about 24 hours, I added in some live plants that I had been given and that may not have been the healthiest at that time. I rinsed them off in a bucket of water that had come from the 75 gallon tank before putting them in. The shark seemed to go down hill faster at about the time I added these plants. I don't know all of the types of plants that I added except that one is an Amazon Sword.