Unknown fish deaths

Smithdog90

Reaction score
Hi can somebody help me with problem with some unions fish deaths. I have recently made a paludarium (picture shown in my profile) and introduced some Chili Raspora about 4 weeks after adding the water. After about a week they started disappearing about every other day and now there is none left after a couple of weeks. There is also a bristlenose catfish and cherry shrimp on there that seem fine. I cannot find any fish corpses in the tank but havenā€™t seen any sign of them so assuming they must be dead. I have tested my water again today to get the following results:

- ammonia 0.25mg/l
- gh 180mg/l
- kh 120mg/l
- ph 7.5
- No2 0mg/l
- N03 0mg/l

FYI I am new to keeping aquariums so my knowledge isnā€™t amazing although I have tried to do as much research as possible online and advice from stores etc. looking at the test results I know the water is very high on the ā€˜hardā€™ side so Iā€™m presuming this might be the issue I need to sort? Any advice would be much appreciated cheers.

Regards Smithdog.
B5C01D1F-7DA5-4A7F-9334-9BAB8D3ED288.jpeg

Cheers, yeah the top part of the tank is coming along nicelyā€¦ but the aquarium part not so much unfortunately.

That ammonia at that pH is deadly to fish. Youā€™ve posted this in the cycling section. Did you cycle the filter?

Awesome setup you have there!!!

I have a few tips and questions to get to the bottom of the fish deaths/disappearances.
1. What water conditioner do you use?
2. Do you add anything into the tank apart from water conditioner?
3. Did you measure water parameters while cycling? Ammonia at .25 should be fine, but will become deadly if it gets any higher.
Tip: after cycling a tank, the nitrates should not be at 0, they should be around 5-15.
Tip: make sure ph remains stable, and choose fish that thrive in your harder water.
4. What temperature is the tank?
5. Does the temperature fluctuate or stay stable?