Tetras Tetras Tetras Tetras Tetras Tetras....

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ChrisC

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
....tetras tetras tetras tetras tetras.... ok I'll stop, but, as you may have guessed, todays topic of conversation is tetras. ;)

Now, beyond the odd neon or two, I have had little experience with them, and getting general information on them seems to be so hard as its such a massive family, and all the information from a quick rumage round in the archives of google seems fairly superficial.

Basically put, I'm after a little info on their behaviour, feeding habits, life span, NH3 production etc, but particually shoaling behaviour. The reason I ask is for a 20 gallon (96ltr) tetra tank. I preferably want three different shoals of tetras, one of which is black phantom tetras and another one is neons.

As far as the third species goes, I was considering serpae tetra or perhaps rummy nose tetra. Main factor affecting decision will be their shoaling behaviour (something which shoals like it's never shoaled before would be ideal :good: ), although I'm after something fairly colourful, preferably red in colour. Any input on information for either the rummy nose or serpae, or perhaps a suggestion as to an alternative species that you reckon is more suitable would be greatly appreciated. 8)

Chris

My pennyworth on this subject: serpae tetras have a reputation for being extremely nippy. Black phantoms have long dorsal fins which they waggle about. This sounds like a potentially problematic combination. If your water is not too hard or very full of nitrates, the rummynoses might be a better bet.