Starting My Own Reef Tank- The Tank Of My Dreams!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

kj23502

lazy dayz
Reaction score
This is my first attempt ever to venture into saltwater!! Some of you may have noticed I've been asking a ton of questions :blush: And there is a LOT to learn. :nod: I agree that every beginner should begin with research and asking questions. When somewhat prepared we are better able to deal with any issues that may arise in our tank in the future.

Just to let you know, I won't have everything up and running right away. In fact I'm still looking for a 75 gallon tank that I can move I African cichlids too. I love their beauty as well and don't want to give them up. The reason I'm moving them is because one of my must have fish, a regal tang, can get pretty big so my current large tank is my best option, in my opinion. I'll update this from time to time as I'll try to collect used equipment, as that's much cheaper and doesn't hurt the bank account as badly. I'll post when I find something and try to put an ample suply of pictures up as well :good:

First, I'm reading some books. I went to TFF's Realm of Knowledge as recommended to me by SkiFletch and looked over possible books. I'm not going to buy a book if I'm not sure if it's really what I want so when I decided on what I was going to get, I went down to the local library. They didn't have any in stock at all, but thankfully they can do something called an interlibrary loan. They can borrow a book from any library around. The first book came from a library in Wisconsin, the second and third books are from Ellsworth Air Force Base in Rapid City, SD. (Just thought I'd share...I find that stuff interesting.)
The first one I checked out was Reef Fishes: Volume 1 by Scott W. Michael.