Received My Aphyosemium Striatum Killifish Today...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

lillykinloo

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I received my 3 Aphyosemium Striatum Killifish today (1 male and 2 females). I have never seen these fish in person, so I honestly wasn't too sure what to expect (in terms of size). They are pretty small, so I think they must be juveniles? They are about 1 inch long. I have 5 fully grown Diamond Tetras and 3 Pearl Gourami in my tank. The largest Tetra is about 2 inches long (his body is much wider than the killifish though), so he's much larger than the little killes. Two of the Pearls are about 2 inches long and one is 3 inches long. I'm worried about releasing the killies into my tank, because they are so small. Last weekend, I tried placing 3 new cory cats in the tank. They were very tiny (about 1/2 inch long), and I'm new to fish keeping, but I figured since the lfs was selling them, it must be ok. Also, the cories were kept in a tank with tetras and pearl gouramis at the fish store, so I thought everything would be fine. Well, when I placed the cories in my tank, the Diamond Tetras immediately bit off the tail of the smallest cory and part of the tail of one of the other cories, and even though I medicated the tank & placed the cories in a baby fish keeper, the smallest cory died. Now, I have the killifish in a baby fish keeper. Do you think the killifish will be able to hold their own against the Tetras? (The Pearl Gouramis don't seem to bother anyone else) If not, will they be ok in the baby fish keeper for now, or should I go purchase another fish tank?

Thanks again!