Pond Build

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

lloyd

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Im starting to plan my new pond. it will be approx 10 foot by 5 or 6 foot by 3 to 4 foot deep.

i plan to build it out of a concrete blocks.

my question is has anybody ever build a similar sized raised pond using concrete blocks and used jst one row of blocks.

iv done a lot of research into pond builds and a few people do go for single row even though every one advises agaisnt it. i was wondereing if due to the small size of the pond could i get away with it as i am rather tight

My pond is a little smaller than what you are planning to build (not by much though) but I built it from single row of breeze blocks. Built it 2 years ago and all is great. :good:

Being a builder I would recommend at least a double skin of blockwork. A gallon of water weighs 10lb. You could use 9" blocks and therefore one skin.

A single skin below ground level is fine if back filled solidly, once above ground a thicker wall is required.

A good rule of thump when building retaining walls is that the wall should be a thickness of a third of the height, ie; 3ft in height should be at least 1ft thick.

Unless you are going to fiberglass the pond then in which case a single skin would be fine.

Being a builder I would recommend at least a double skin of blockwork. A gallon of water weighs 10lb. You could use 9" blocks and therefore one skin.

A single skin below ground level is fine if back filled solidly, once above ground a thicker wall is required.

A good rule of thump when building retaining walls is that the wall should be a thickness of a third of the height, ie; 3ft in height should be at least 1ft thick.

Unless you are going to fiberglass the pond then in which case a single skin would be fine.