My fish are slowly dying. :(

KenFromBG

Reaction score
First, I want to say that I am by no means a tank expert. I have had tanks in the past and never had a problems but also never really needed to do anything besides regular maintenance. This new tank though has been a bit challenging. Heres whats going on:

I bought a 65 gallon tank back in the beginning of January. I started with an over the back filter because it was part of the package that I got. The person at the fist store assured me that the filter was more than good enough to maintain the tank. I have 2 bubble stones because bubbles and a power head for circulation. The power head is for a 55 gallon tank but with the over the back filter I figured it was good enough for circulation/aeration.

I added some plants, and some decorations. (a large ceramic "log" in the middle of the tank and some plastic plants) I added the water and the starter treatments and then let the tank do its magic for about a month. (my 6 year old was not happy because she wanted fishes in the tank immediately). I did regular water tests and everything was looking good.

After the month was over I took a water sample and went to the aquarium store. They tested the water and said everything looked good so I picked up 8 small community fish and a pleco. I let the kid pick and she wanted 4 Rasboras and 4 Gouramis. Two weeks later we also went and got a few fancy guppies because the kid wanted them.

Everyone was happy, the tank looked great, the fish seemed healthy and regular water checks were showing everything was good.

Then, the guppies died off one by one. Not sure why, water tests again showed everything was good. So I started weekly 25% water changes. Then one gourami died, and a week later the second one died. Then the pleco literally disappeared one night. Seriously. Its nowhere. Checked everywhere. Its just gone. It was bigger than all the other fish so there is no way they ate him in one night.