The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

FishBearer9845

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Good afternoon
I'm hoping you can advise.
My mums tank just isn't cycling, we are both not really sure what is happening.
I've attached the recordings she's made.
She did add (in addition to) the existing internal filter a Fluval 207 cannister
I have told her to, once the tank is cycled, to move the internal filter material to the Fluval 207 cannister.
Any advice much appreciated
Kind regards
Sarah
121773042_379844546529097_1571582847840696724_n.jpg

121758545_824496228307751_6581917460919673953_n.jpg

It seems to me that it's cycling, just very slowly. It can take several weeks in my experience. There are some things you can do to speed up the cycle I understand, though I'm not an expert on that. Maybe someone who knows how to speed up cycles will chime in.

You can buy bottled bacteria thatā€™s what I did or ask somebody you know for any old filter media you can use , this is probably bad advice but add some real hardy fish but Iā€™m sure thatā€™s faster than a fish less cycle , but same as above Iā€™m no expert at this , I panic about cleaning my filter lol

What is the pH of the tank water? Cycling can go very slowly in acidic water - or even not at all.
The pH is too low for bacteria to survive in 3 of my tanks and these are completely uncycled, but knowing this I have a lot of plants so it causes no problems. I still get 0 for ammonia and nitrites.

Thank you all so far for your replies
@seangee PH is 7.6 using low and 8.2 using high as I guess it's too high for the low

The pH is off the top of the scale of the lower range tester; it will read 7.6 no matter how high it is. Go by the high range tester reading.

Iā€™ve suggested plants to her and she has a lovely chunk of driftwood in there too and planted it would look amazing