Lemon Tetras or Neon Tetras?

paulioo

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi,

I've just bought my first aquarium. Its 12 Gallons and im wondering what fish to put into it.

Should i have....

6 Neon Tetras only or

6 Lemon Tetras only or

3 lemon Tetras and 4 neon tetras or

2 lemon Tetras and 5 neon tetras.

I want my aquarium to be active and nice to look at.
I also want my fish to be as happy as can be. Thats why im not sure if i should just have a large shoal of the one type of tetra or a mix of tetra but smaller shoals.

Advice please.
p.s Im a student and dont have money to buy a bigger aquarium.

Thanks Paul.

First :hi: to the forum.

Next ensure that before you add your fish that you cycle your tank. If you are not sure what that means then read this article. There are other as well at the top of this forum.
For your question...always keep tetras and other schooling fish in larger groups. So pick one type and go with 6. HTH :)

I'd go with the large shoal of neon tetras as the bigger the shoal the better and neon tetras have two colours instead of a one light colour and a red eye. Ultimatly it is your decision so go with the fish that you think is most beautiful and get a large shoal of it. :)

Thanks for the quick reply....

Ive just been reading up on the non fish nitrogen cycle thing. It'll probably take me weeks before i can buy fish. I Dont want to kill any of the wee fellas.

I'll probably go for the one shoal of Neon Tetras. I had been reading about the lemon tetras and how the males do a dance or something, which i thought would be quite good to watch. Nut sure if the dance was for mating purposes or territory.

Do Neon Tetras do anything thats good to watch? Ive searched the internet and bought a book but it doesnt say anything about the neon tetras characteristics.

Paul