Ideas on numbers and what to fill with

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Arron90

Reaction score
Hi guys

In the next few weeks Iā€™m buying a tank, the one Iā€™ve seen is 120L. Iā€™ve seen some fish I like the look of but Iā€™m unsure on numbers I can have of each or any better suggestions on how to fill it. Below are the types of fish I like the look of and I wondered if you could suggest a number make up or suggest one of your own for me to think about

neon tetras
Guppies
Swordtails
Pleco

also would you have snails to help with cleaning

im new to all this so any combination suggestions I am open to :)

The best thing would be to first determine what the Hardness (GH) and pH of your tap water is. Do you know if your tap water is hard or soft, and what the GH (degrees Gh or ppm GH) is? If you don't, you can find this out by checking your water provider's website. The hardness and pH of your water will ultimately determine what type of fish you will be able to keep.

Agree. Also, if you are thinking of the 120 liter, can you give us the dimensions? Volume is one thing, but there are longer tanks and shorter/taller tanks for most of them, each having the swame volume. Swimming activity levels of a fish can determine if it needs the longer or the taller will work, so it helps when considering species to know the dimensions. A 120 liter is roughly 30 gallons, so that is a good size for smallish fish, and the GH and pH will send us in the right direction.

The water is very hard, pH 7.52

tank is 50 x 80 x 35

Thanks for your help I look forward to a response

pH and hardness are two different things... you can have water with a pH of 7.52 that could be soft or hard... GH is the measure of hardness and can be expressed in two different units... degrees or ppm... Check your water provider to find out what the hardness is.

The water is very hard, pH 7.52

tank is 50 x 80 x 35