Hello, from total newbie

RescueNewbie

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Loving this forum and how helpful everyone is, what a great community!

I'm a total newbie. I rescued a tank and some fish (they were in my boyfriends house, and were his ex's that were looked after his old flatmate, who has since left. My boyfriend was just feeding them and turning light and created a a massive alage bloom!)

Both fish and tanks were in a sorry state and so I have since become a bit of a nerd, reading up on everything I can and trying to make a nicer home for the Cory and Neon Tetra that I have saved ( Inc adding new buddies gradually once tank levels are better).

Have just posted into medical emergency forum as the Cory seems to have cotton mouth or infected mouth - appreciate everyone's thoughts.

Determined to create a happier fishes and a better home for them and be a good fish mum! They are hilarious characters, especially the single neon tetra who is as brash as they come!

I was filming the Cory the other day to take footage to aquarium shop to see what is wrong with him, and the neon kept on photo bombing and swimming into shot to get in on the action!

Photos of tank below, it has had a mega plant prune to remove the worst of algae, I have moved a plant from the far right so I can gradually clean the very filthy gravel before removing it completely to put sand down that end for the Cory. Also floating plant and java fern is on its way to help absorb more nutrients and keep the tetra happier.

Love looking at how people have set up their tanks and can't wait to share more of mine as it evolves, trying to convince boyfriend that we need a bigger tank too! Looking forward to seeing Cory playing in sand hopefully very soon and him feeling much better, will be sad if I can't save him as become really fond of the fella.

IMG_20230419_120923.jpg

IMG_20230418_173502.jpg