Growing Your Own Live Foods

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

VaegaVic

Fish Addict
Reaction score
Hi all,
Just a quickie here.
I'm looking to grow my own live foods now, as the frozen stuff I normally use is just becoming more and more water/moisture.

Is there a particular live food that's easy to cultivate, store and doesn't smell like rotting onions?

Also, whilst we're on the subject, is there such a thing as gut loading in aquatic foods?
The reason I ask is because I have some experience in dealing with feeding live foods to reptiles and those must be gut loaded (feed the food a good diet to make it more nutritios).
Is this possible in live foods in aquaria? and if so, would could I use?

Thanks all.

grindall worms are easy to cultivate doesn't smell. i can post you some if your intrested

I cultivate;
Paramoecium, Vinegar eel, Microworms, Grindalworms, Whiteworms, Drosophila melanogaster, Chlorella, Mexican gammarus shrimp, Daphnia pulex & Moina. I also hatch Artemia on a daily basis and Fairy shrimp on occasion.
I am currently building up to growing Brineshrimp to maturity on a large scale.

Check out all my articles in the killifish section....
Regards
BigC

Brine Shrimp should be ok and you can buy eggs all over the place.

Thanks for the info guys and thanks very much for the offer.
I was looking more at white worms, where I can just literally pick them up and toss them in.

Anyone have any ideas on the whole gut loading thing.
The process is basically representative of the food chain, all the goodness goes from the food you feed the worms, to the worms and then the worms themselves become food for the fish, transferring the goodness in the original food.

Any feeding of worms such as White or Grindal should be done in conjunction with other foods. If you are planning to feed these worms on a daily basis then you would need to worry more about the gut loading aspects of such foods.