Driftwood

xXMrBonesXx

Fish Herder
Reaction score
HI,

i live near a beach and i might go down and check and see if theres any good driftwood laying around and im just wondering how i would go about making it tank safe

Thanks

the two methods i know of are boiling, letting it sit in some water over night, and putting it in the oven... can anyone back me up on this cuz im no expert lol :alien:

Yup... I've collected small pieces of driftwood that I've boiled, and had great success. I change the water frequently during the boiling process. This will help remove the nasties and the color that might otherwise leech into the tank water. Of course, if the driftwood is too big for a kettle, you'll have to use an alternative method :)

i have some pretty big cooking pots so tell me if this will be somewhat right

if i go get a piece, i bring it home and boil it for a couple days on the stove to make sure all the garbage is out of it then just to be safe boil once after ;) then all id have to do is find a way to sink it?

:D Boiling for a couple days might be going a bit overboard! :D I boil it for a few hours maybe.

Yup, then I weight it down with rocks for several weeks 'til it gets soaked enough to sink on its own.

well thats what i meant lol boil it for a few hours not for 2 days straight

and i plan on getting some sort of slate that will sit under the rocks so its not seen and using a stainless steel screw of some sort to attach it to the wood

xXMrBonesXx said:
well thats what i meant lol boil it for a few hours not for 2 days straight

and i plan on getting some sort of slate that will sit under the rocks so its not seen and using a stainless steel screw of some sort to attach it to the wood
That'll work too!

Remove any plants, moss, fungi, etc. with a stiff brush. Boil and simmer for about 1 hour (this will help leach out tannin and aslo help to expel air from the wood). Some people clean with bleach then wash and re-boil.