Do Mother Mollies Eat Their Baby's Straight Away / During Birth?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

bradleysam

Reaction score
Hi there,

Im quite new to the whole keeping fish hobby. It started off a few weeks ago with a £50 21 litre tank, some nice fish... Then it went off-plan. I had to spend £200 and upgrade to a 78 litre tank and I have 11 babie mollys.

I also have a pregnant molly who gave birth 2 weeks ago. I didn't acully realise I had baby fish until probably a few hours after she had given birth. I've got them all now in a nice net seperated from the other fish - and they seem to be fine.

The net measures up to an ok size - plenty big enough for the tiny fish. I know that the big fish will eat the babies - hense I'm keeping them seperate. Trying to be a little more prepared I want to know weather it is safe to put the pregnant fish into one of these a few days before she is due to give birth... (this is what I am already keeping my current babies in). [URL="http://www.equarium.com.au/files/store/images/netbreeder.jpg"]http://www.equarium.com.au/files/store/images/netbreeder.jpg [/URL] Obviouley I don't want my babies to be eaten straight away by the mother - and I can't supervise her 24 hours a day to make sure she is removed straight away after birth. Or should I use something like this... If so when should I use it and how. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/LG-FLOATING-AQUARIUM...1QQcmdZViewItem