Cycling Query - Simple Answers Please!

Ch4rlie

Moderate Moderating Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
Hello y'all,

I have been reading this forum loads of stuff about cycling tanks and it seems that the more I read the less I know!!! 
blink.png

I am no scientist thats for darn sure! 
no.gif

Anyway, I would appreciate a laymans answer if possible as simple is goooood!

I am currently doing a Fishless Cycle of a 90 litre (23 US gallon) tank.

Has live plants (and bloomin' snails that just won't go away!!!)

Have just finished the first week of cycle (day 7 now)

Am using API Freshwater Master Test Kit.

I have tested my tap water first of all - 
pH - 7.6
Ammonia - 0.25 ppm
Nitrite - 0.25 ppm
Nitrate - 20 ppm

Then on first day (18th July) tested tank water - 
pH - 7.6
Ammonia - 0.50 ppm
Nitrite - 0.25 ppm
Nitrate - 40 ppm

I did do a small 15% water change on 2nd day as water was cloudy due to probably me not washing gravel thoroughly enough. And took out 3 unsuitable plants and replaced with new plants.

2 days ago tested tank water - (added ammonia to dosage of 3ppm 5 days ago, all previous tests were same results as below)
pH - 7.6
Ammonia - 4.0 ppm
Nitrite - 0.25 ppm
Nitrate - 20/40 ppm

Today tested tank water - 
Ph - 7.6
Ammonia - 2 ppm
Nitrite - 0.25 ppm
Nitrate - 20 ppm

Do not have a GH/KH test kit yet but plan to purchase one in near future. So do not know the levels of those yet.

Now I know its far too early for any conclusive results of this cycle. And think plants may be consuming some ammonia this is possibly why this level has dropped but was not expecting to drop this quickly.

But can anyone tell me if am on the right tracks as am getting paranoid about these tests! (am I doing this right, should i add more ammonia, have i got the right type of ammonia, are my plants ok, should i do a water change, should I, should i do this, should do that.... etc etc)  
wacko.png