Channa Bleheri

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

I figured you were the correct person to go with. And I wasn't trying to insult your wisdom at all good sir. I just wanted to double check.

I have to ask, how do you get yours to look so beautiful? Mine appear dull in color. Perhaps just because they're infants?

Lastly, the pair I have seem to be "friendly" towards one another. The larger of the two ( who I will refer to as A1 for simplicity ) will swim about doing what Channa do.. And the smaller of the two ( A2 ) will soon follow, but it doesn't appear to be playing with A1, it seems that A2 wants to remain close to A1. I would love to believe that A1 is male and that A2 is female. But since I am a beginner at this stage I can merely speculate. I have read that males have wider cheeks and larger heads and the females are said to have more round heads. Still I can't seem to make heads or tails of mine. If I took proper pictures of the two would you be able to tell me their gender? I can't imagine I could just lift up their bonnets and have a look about! haha

Are Channa Bleheri night or day hunters?

Also, what would be a good feeder fish that I could try to breed in a separate tank to feed these guys for when they get bigger? I read that Channa Bleheri grow around 1 inch per 3 months.
LFS told me small guppy.

Are Channa Bleheri night or day hunters?

Also, what would be a good feeder fish that I could try to breed in a separate tank to feed these guys for when they get bigger? I read that Channa Bleheri grow around 1 inch per 3 months.
LFS told me small guppy.

Hi.
You are much better keeping Bleheri off live food.
Best bet is to get them on a good staple like Hikari Carnivore, and eventually massive.
Supplement this with market shrimp, smelt, beef heart etc.

There is no need for feeders with Channa. (other then the big guns like Micropeltes, Marulius, Argus and Marulioides.)