Breeding Rams

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Zante

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Ok, ok, I know it's not what you'd call the most difficult task, but it's my first attempt at breeding anything (other than daphnia as live food that is!), so I thought I'd open a journal, both for personal satisfaction and so that I can avoid mistakes following the advice of anyone willing to give it.

... and who knows, baybe it'll be useful to another newbie like me.

The rams have gone in the tank today, four hours ago to be precise.

The tank is a fluval Roma 90, with the lighting upgraded to 4 T5 tubes for a total of 96w.

Fine black gravel holds two amazon swords and a patch of vallisneria. A piece of bogwood has a thick java fern. A larger piece of bogwood is forming a lintel over two pieces of red jasper.

The filter has been upgraded from a fluval U2 (internal) to a Hydor something 10 external (nominal flow 300l/h).

Temperature is kept at 29 Celsius by 2x100w heaters, one at each end of the tank.

Currently the water is 50/50 RO and tap water, for an approximate hardness of 7gh. I will start bringing that down slowly with the water changes to a proportion of 80/20 where 20 is the tap water.

There is CO2 injection with a DIY yeast bottle.

Tank mates:
12 espei rasboras
12 kuhli loaches
3 snails

I have added the rams to the tanks four hours ago. One of the males is older and bigger, and obviously dominant.
I have called him Fred, and his mate Wilma. The other male, smaller and submissive I have called Barney and his mate Betty.