Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

ammonia in small ammount

Discussion in 'Tropical Discussion' started by robert1305, Aug 19, 2019.

  1. robert1305

    robert1305 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a 20gl tank, well planted, two small angels. 4 cardinal, 3 dwarf gourami, and 3 bottom dwellers, problem is I always show a slight ammonia trace although I do a water change once a week,
    My tank has a separate filter system at the rear of the tank, with separate compartments large sponge, one bag of charcoal, one bag of silicon and a bag of larva rock heater and pump.
    All the other water parameters are OK, I use a liquid test kit, so it should be more accurate than a strip test kit, but when I have it tested with a Tetra ammonia kit it shows zero. ????????????
    All comments gratefully received.

    Regards Bob
     
  2. Deanasue

    Deanasue Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    USA
    A5E965A5-CABF-4DBB-A93D-4F0EB82B7E84.png Hi, Bob and welcome. Do you know if your water supplier uses chlorine or chloramine in your tap water? Mine uses chloramine and since they started my ammonia always reads .25ppm. I learned this is actually ammonium, not ammonia which is basically harmless to the fish. I bought a Seachem Free & Total Ammonia Test Kit and it registers 0. I also keep a Seachem ammonia alert in my tanks and it stays in the safe zone. You may want to invest in at least the alert monitor as it is good for one year. Good luck!
     
    #2 Deanasue, Aug 19, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Byron

    Byron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9,659
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    CA
    This question comes up a lot, where members have ammonia testing at a very low number like 0.25 ppm in an established tank. One member suggested this could be due to chloramine in the source water, if your water authority adds chloramine.

    EDIT. As I was typing, Deanasue posted with the same point. Bottom line, don't worry as long as the ammonia does not suddenly increase, though frankly this is not very likely. Live plants, especially floating, would eliminate any chance of ammonia being a problem provided you do not overstock, overfeed, and continue the regular substantial water changes.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Naughts

    Naughts Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    My API liquid test always looks a bit green (0.25) but I have another brand which always shows zero.
    I take API 0.25 as 0 now and don’t worry about it.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. robert1305

    robert1305 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the replies friends, I have ordered a Seachem ammonia and PH alert monitors, so I will fit them in the tank keep an eye on them and stop worrying :) thanks again for the replies.
    Regards Bob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Mongo75

    Mongo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    API has an error of 0.25ppm. This is unfortunate, but quite (recently) it is normal to read 0.25ppm.

    If you can, run an air stone in a gallon of your source (tap) water for 24 hours and compare the two.
     
  7. seangee

    seangee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Berks
    I'm not sure that is the case. My established tanks always read 0 (no hint of green).
    My new tank had been reading 0.25 all week when I had two sponge filters in there. Yesterday I put in a new HOB filter and put the sponges from one of the sponge filters inside it. I removed the other sponge filter, so in theory I reduced the amount of bacteria.
    This morning there was definitely no hint of green. I suspect that in my case I simply wasn't getting enough water flowing through the filters quickly enough, or enough movement at the surface where my plants are.

    I have now officially stopped testing on this tank :)
     
  8. Mongo75

    Mongo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Not all api test kits have this problem. Mine doesn't. But if you look around on other sources on the internet, many people are getting readings of 0.25ppm on new setups, and on well established tanks too. Google "api ammonia error" or "api ammonia accuracy" and you will see.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. seangee

    seangee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Berks
    Fair enough. Mine's about a year old, but still well within the expiry date.
     

Share This Page