Amazon biotope

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

delphina

Reaction score
:D I have recently been given a 5 foot tank that had been set up for over three years. With this tank, I'd like to fix an Amazon biotope.

I saved the original gravel and kept the filters guts in tact, so I'm ahead of the game and the tank is set up and running - but barren. ;)

I have two Fluval cannister filters. And two heaters. And small to medium sized natural gravel.

I'd love suggestions on fish and decorations as I'm not overly sure of myself on this dramatic undertaking. I'm a novice, but a fearless one.

If anyone knows of sites with pictures of Amazon set ups, that'd also be swell.

I'll take pictures and maybe I can post them here when I'm finished. :D

What family/s of fish are you interested in? Well amazonian hey well bogwood for starters...a lot of vegetation. Many types of fish including tetras and many chiclids (What family do you like?) Also smb asked me this question do you prefer aggressive or passive species ;)

Any amazonian biotope would have to have catfish as one of the main species as they are probably the most prolific fish in the amazon. Personally for a peaceful set up id scrap the gravel substrate and go with sand, then i could stock the tank with eartheater cichlids (geophagus species), a couple of pairs of angelfish (or discus if your up for the challenge), 2 male and 6 female dwarf cichilids (appistogramma species), good size shoals of cardinal tetras for the middle of the tank and marbled hatchet fish to occupy the surface area, 2 groups of different corydoras (say 5 of each species), a few medium sized peaceful catfish like hoplosternum species and up to 20 otocinclus (dwarf algea eaters) to clean up any algea problems, could have one or two fancy plecs in there too if you wished.