80 Gallon Aquarium In Cycle With 20 Year Old Fish :(

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

rrats

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
this is my first time to this forum, i'm hoping to get a reasonable solution here...

first of all, the reason my 80 gallon aquarium is cycling is MY OWN FAULT... and i suspected i'd throw it into cycle...

so, i inherited an 80 gallon tall aquarium from my mom when she passed away in march... it came with five 15-20 year old silver dollars, 2 catfish, 1 pleco, 1 severum, and i added my 2 parrot fish in there so i wouldn't have to maintain 2 aquariums...

fish were doing great, but i wanted to get rid of the undergravel filtration and rocks, switch to sand... of course, i put off cleaning the tank because i'd originally set it up on a stand that was just too tall for me to reach the bottom with any means... the stand was only 3ft tall, but yeah... and i also got lazy and busy... my own fault the undergravel got FILTHY - the filters were filthy... i only lost one fish - the severum got a fungal infection resulting in pop-eye and death within 24 hours of beginning treatment...

so we built a new stand, nice and short (2ft) and i tore down the aquarium, bagged up 2 nylon stockins worth of gravel and muck, removed all rocks, put in sand, a few decorations (poor tank had been bare), cleaned the filters and added filtration medium (they'd had none in there - thanks mom)... and now my aquarium is cycling with all these giant fish in it. 

so far the fish appear healthy, they're eating well (i'm only giving them a small amount at a time) and 48 hours later, the ammonia is testing at 2-3ppm.