Zebra Danios, Harlequin Rasbora, What Next?

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

fish_fanatic

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this site but I'll do my best to give you all the info I can :D
I have a 48L tank and currently own 5 Zebra Danios and 5 Harlequin Rasboras (I did have a betta but it died any I don't want another really). I am very new to fish keeping and was wondering what fish you would recommend that both look great and are compatible with my fish.
Thanks for your help...
fish_fanatic :)

PS I have a filtering system, 2 plastic plants/ornaments. I also don't want any other animals in the tank but fish.

Once fully grown, those 10 remaining fish will have a body length (excluding fins) of ~17" which is probably going to be too much for your tank to handle (48 litres= 10.5 gallon). Your current fish will need a tank twice as big, which even then leaves very little surplus for any new fish.

For the sake of the fish, please keep a very close eye (once a day) on the ammonia and nitrite readings, as you are likely to need very frequent water changes to keep them alive.
wink.gif

Thanks for your advice but 48L is actually more like 12.5 gallons :)
At all 4 pets hops I have visited they have said I can have up to 30 fish of this size in my tank :p
I am now confused:S
Thanks anyway

Google "litres to gallons conversions" ... Every one I tried is saying 48 litres is a fraction over 10.5 imperial gallons
wink.gif

What are the dimensions of your tank?

30 fish, err yeah whatever, perhaps 30 baby Endlers, but if they survived to be adults they would be overstocked.

Its not the size of the fish when you buy them that is important, its what size they will become when adults!
wahey.gif

I personally wouldnt keep zebra danios in a 48L tank.