Ick/velvet

RockingRook

Reaction score
Hello everyone!! I am not an expert but I have dealt with fish disease before but this one has me baffled. About 2 weeks ago I noticed
some of my fish flashing and also noticed that one of my Bleeding Hearts and some of my Cardinals had white spots. I raised the temp to 82 and started treating for Ick. I used Quick Cure.
I treated for 3 days and then did a 30% water change but the infected fish did not respond at all. Uusually the spots will become less as the cysts mature and fall off the fish but in this case the white spots only increased in number. As a result all my cardinals and all but two of my Bleeding Hearts died. My Rasboras, Corys and Otos remain untouched. After about 2 weeks of elevated temp and periodic treatment with Quick Cure and also Copper Sulfate I have one Bleeding Heart that is covered in white spots, no other fish seems affected. Honestly I am waiting for that Bleeding Heart to finally die so I can get on with finishing the treatment of the tank and restocking.

This 75 gallon is about 5 years old and it is fully planted. I cannot catch and individually treat that one remaining fish that is covered in white spots, I have tried. I cannot add salt to that tank because my crypts are salt intolerant and the addition of salt, although beneficial for ick/velvet, should not be necessary with the bombardment of formalin, malachite green and copper sulfate and elevated temp. that I have been treating that tank with for the past 2 weeks. I am at a loss. I have never seen a case such as this.

I have researched the web looking for any hints but be it velvet or ick both should respond to the treatment.

The water parameters are perfect. No ammonia, nor nitrites and the nitrates remain below 10 ppm.

I have dealt with ick in the past and have used just the Quick Cure and elevated temps to kill the parasite but this case is different.