Ich ???? !!!!

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

LongNY

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've noticed one tiny white spec on one of my Tiger Barb's fin.... only one spec, on only one of my fish.... should I take action to treat for ICH? Should I wait? No other signs... since I'm new at this hobby, I'm not sure what else it might be.... thanks John NYC

If you have no scaless fish maybe add some salt and turn temp up abit.

Thanks for the advice... I'll try the salt and raising the water temperature.... The tank has only been "up" for a week now and I have 3 Tiger Barbs in the tank. So hopefully the salt will work.... John NYC

Hi LongNY :)

One spot does not give you enough information to make a proper diagnosis of ich. It could also be an indication that you have a bacterial infection starting. The problem with making a misdiagnosis like this is that the treatment for one calls for high temperatures and the other condition will be aggravated by high temperatures.

It would be better to act slowly and be sure before doing anything.

If it turns out to be ich, it will look like your fish, or parts of it, have been sprinkled with salt. The spots will be tiny and there are apt to be many of them. If it's bacterial infection that is starting out, it will turn into larger patches of white.

Whatever it turns out to be, be sure that you check your chemicals while cycling and do frequent water changes to bring them down, using dechlorinated water that is the same temperature as the tank water. Controlling the cycling process so that it goes slowly is much safer for the fish, and there is no real benefit to rushing through it. :D