Endler came with white something on tail, should I worry?

Anubias Banana

Reaction score
Key information:
  1. white -something, looks like a !
  2. came from the LFS like this yesterday, must have had whatever it is when in the fish shop
  3. no change in 24 hrs
  4. I didn't pick the fish out individually the guy just scooped a random 5 out of a tank of lots of them
  5. If there were others in the tank at fish shop with white patches I didn't notice
  6. there were no dead fish in the tank at LFS
  7. our tank is new but has been precycled, 0 ammonia and nitrite as of yesterday when the fish were introduced but then see also 2.
  8. fish in question is active and eating, behaviour is indistinguishable from the other 4 endlers
Anyone care to propose a diagnosis? Have advice? Could it just be a genetic marking?

Attachments

• P1110031.JPG
    P1110031.JPG
    64.3 KB · Views: 21
I'm no expert by any means but to my untrained eye, that looks like the natural markings of the fish (assuming you mean the small white part on the bottom half of the tail?)
He's a very pretty little fish :)

There's two white things there and they could be calcium deposits in the fin rays or excess mucous. I would need to see better pictures from different angles to make a more positive ID but I doubt it's anything to worry about. If you're concerned, you can add some salt but I would give it a few days and see how it looks then. If it gets worse, post more pictures asap.

Thanks, to you both, I am hoping it's just a natural variation and the new-fish paranoia, will continue to monitor and update if there's any change.
@Colin_T Never had to use salt in a tank before, is there a brand you'd recommend over others?
@FriendlyGeek thanks, they are a handsome bunch of lads. :)

Any sort of non-iodised sodium chloride can be used.

SALT