Dwarf

Tempestuousfury

Fish Aficionado
Reaction score
I'm not sure where to place this question, so I'll just put it here.

I'm thinking about getting dwarf cichlids for my ten gallon tank.

I'm going to move all of the fish out and leave just the cichlids (and maybe shrimp if they'll be left alone).

Question: I read that dwarfs can be bred in these tanks. However, can they be kept in these tanks as well? What are the chances of the fry surviving with the adults still in the tank?

I'm not exactly sure which dwarf I'll get or if they're even available around here. At the moment a ram is what I'm thinking about getting, so I guess the questions asked above are for these fish.

I'm not very good with the gallon of tanks with all cichlid it the floor area which is important not the volume. I'm guessing your tank is about 18" long by 12" wide if this is the case a pair of most dwarfs should be okay.

However i would not sujest getting Rams they are not an easy fish to keep. If you can get them try Apistogramma Cacatuoides they are a nice looking fish and easy to keep and breed and should be available.

your best bet would be an apisto they are great little fish :nod:

If you want to breed apsitos, keep a ratio of 1:3 males to females, that way the male won't harass and kill the female

Apistos would be a good choice. If you manage to obtain a long tank rather than a tall tank you could have a pair of an Apisto species and a few small dither fish. Most of the time Apistos are very good parents guarding and raising the fry although female and male relationships in the pair may get strained and during raising the fry they may get aggressive towards each other. So make sure you can also move one of the fish to another tank. If you cannot purchase a pair then maybe try a trio, one male to two females, but again a female may have to be removed.