Cycling My Baby Biorb 15L

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SlashmanJones

Reaction score
Hello,

I am very new to the fish keeping hobby. My girlfriend got me a Baby Biorb 15L for Christmas. The last fish tank I had was a Goldfish bowl when I was 5, and my goodness has the game changed.

Anyways, I did as the instructions said, I dumped the bacteria in, waited a day, and went to get a beta fish.  Admittedly, I knew nothing about cycling the tank. After I got the betta, I got about 6 ghost shrimps and a mystery snail. Over the next week or so, they all died.  Me being overzealous about fish keeping most definitely lead to their demise.  

I have the API freshwater testing kit, and I did a test yesterday. As a note, My tank has been set up for about 3 weeks and I've done 2 50% water changes.  All the readings are within the normal range, but the nitrite test is still quite high.  It is a very dark purple, indicating a high level of nitrite.

My question is this: Basically, where do I go from here? How do I reduce the nitrite levels to where it would be acceptable to put fish into? Is it a situation where I should start over and do a fish less cycle?  

Thank you in advance for the information; I've only been a "fish keeper" for a few weeks but it is extremely interesting to me.

If you are following the fishless cycling guide on the site, you will see you do nothing until your nitrite drops. The API kits uses a scale called the total ion scale to read nitrogen compounds such as ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. This scale is different from the one science uses which is called the nitrogen scale, In fishless cyccling the difference is onlt important in that you wish to avoid levels of ammonia higher than 5 ppm on the nitrogen scale.