Cycling a 10g Using Established Filter Media

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

SlickDiver

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new here, but I'm not a newbie. I've been in the aquarium hobby for 20+ years. I usually do a fishless cycle from scratch because I'm usually not in a hurry. But this time I am in a bit of a hurry, so I'm trying to speed up the cycle of a new 10g tank using filter media from my established 75g tank. On the new 10g tank I'm running an AquaClear 20 and a sponge filter. That should be plenty of filtration. I filled the AquaClear 20 with filter media from my 75g. I also took some substrate (sand) from my 75g and covered the bottom of the new 10g. Then I dosed the new 10g to 1ppm of ammonia. By using the established filter media, I expected to see ammonia start to drop right away, but it's been several days and nothing has changed. How long does it normally take to initiate a cycle when using established filter media?

Hi. I'm new here, but I'm not a newbie. I've been in the aquarium hobby for 20+ years. I usually do a fishless cycle from scratch because I'm usually not in a hurry. But this time I am in a bit of a hurry, so I'm trying to speed up the cycle of a new 10g tank using filter media from my established 75g tank. On the new 10g tank I'm running an AquaClear 20 and a sponge filter. That should be plenty of filtration. I filled the AquaClear 20 with filter media from my 75g. I also took some substrate (sand) from my 75g and covered the bottom of the new 10g. Then I dosed the new 10g to 1ppm of ammonia. By using the established filter media, I expected to see ammonia start to drop right away, but it's been several days and nothing has changed. How long does it normally take to initiate a cycle when using established filter media?