betta fish water temp

cutecotton

Fish Herder
Reaction score
hi everyone :) i'm a newbie here, but i found your forum really sueful so i got a few questions of my own for you guys.

this is really teh first time i've had a betta fish properly that i'm rasiing by myself. I want to keep it nice happy :D it's a male placed in one of those classic fish bowls, bare glass bottom and i don't have any plants in it. Basically itl's just in a glass bowl. I feel it those pellet food from the store, but i'm thinking of gtetting it live food for a feast once in a while.

The other altenative (if you think the tank is too small), i have a 10 gallon tank complete with filter and heaters and all that type of stuff, i odn't kno wif should move the male in there, 10 galloon seems a litlte big for such a small fish, but the little glass bowl it's in right nwo seems a little too small :sad:

Another problem i'm having is that the water temperature is never constnat in the little fish bowl. I'ts always dipping under 70 (around 68 - 69) during hte night, and shooting up to 75-ish in the mornign when it's in the sun.

Got any ideas to how i can keep the temp constant?

:hi: to the forum. Introduce yourself in the newbie section.

In the wild, the conditions in the betta's habitat are similar to what you have. However, the dips aren't as great, and the temperatures stay in the high 70s.

I'd suggest putting him in the 10 gallon tank. Despite what some people might say, they are happy in most tanks under a 20. I've had bettas in my 5 gallon, 10 gallon, and bowls, and they prefer somewhat bigger spaces.

By the way, what temp is your 10 gallon at, and what other fish will you add?

HTH

Hi cutecotton :)

Welcome to the forum. :flowers:

Bettas, like all other fish do best with lots of clean, fresh water and stable temperatures. :nod:

I keep my bettas in 20 gallon tanks with cory cats and they seem to get along very well.