Best Products

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

squarefish

Reaction score
I've been reading a few threads about cycle boosters etc. This got me thinking about the hundreds of products at my LFS and how many of them are actually any good. As a new aquarist can anyone recommend the essentials and the highly recommended ones?

Hi, i am a newbie too. To be honest, no one really recommends any of the cycle aids you see in the lfs. As you need live bacteria to start your cycle, these products are a little sketchy on how they work. There is no seel by date on them andbacteria needs a food source to survive. I have used Stress Zyme a couple of times in my tank and it has done absolutely nothing. I am cycling with fish in my tank, and its only just getting into the cycle now after 4 weeks, my ammonia and nitrite are up at the minute. I was donated some filter media and that is what boosted my cycle up, so if you ca get someone to donate you a matured filter sponge, the squeezings from a matured filter sponge or sme gravel from an established tank, that will kick start your cycle. I got some gravel from my local lfs, they were really friendly and had no problem giving me two handfulls of gravel. Good luck and hope that has helped. Other people will tell you more as, as i said earlier, i am a complete novice and only learnt what i know from this forum. GRJ :good:

I can recommend Prime. I use it with every water change and it helps during cycling. It will not cycle a tank faster but if your doing a cycle with fish it will neutralize the nitrite and ammonia on top of wiping out chlorine. It smells a bit like rotten eggs but the stuff works great. Other than Prime the only chemicals I use would be medicine when absolutely needed.