De-chlorinator – Confusing.

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

rich05uk

Reaction score
I've already posted a similar question in the new to the hobby section but thought I might try here also.

I'm new to keeping fish but in my quest for information I came across this article on dechlorinators. I am now trying to find a dechlorinator that simply removes chlorine and chloramines without doing any of the 'other stuff'. Any suggestions?

If such a product exists, would I need to do anything else to the water such as removing heavy metals etc, if so how?

Thanks.

Here: http://www.thetropicaltank.co.uk/rev-cond.htm is a good article that has a table of what a lot of popular dechlorinators do.

You do want one that binds up heavy metals too. Fish have different heavy metal tolerances than humans -- and the water companies only monitor the levels to be safe for human consumption. For example, a fish's LD50 level (the LD50 level is the dose that kills half of a test population) for copper is between 100 to 1000 times smaller than the dose where humans even start to notice any ill effects. So, detoxifying heavy metals is usually a pretty good thing for the fish.

Thanks Bignose, that's a very useful link.

From the list in this link it appears the closest dechlorinator that does what I want is the API Tap Water Conditioner except it doest deal with removing chloramines from the water, any suggestions?